The Birth Of Destruction: 5

Weekend following the Lock-In

Caleb asked for my phone number before we left the school. I gave him my moms number because I didn’t have my own phone, I unlike other teenagers, wasn’t aloud to have one.

We talked a lot that weekend and I learned a lot more about him. He was on probation until a year after he was to graduate high school. Truthfully, now after so many years, the reason why is hazy to me. It might have been because he’d threatened to kill a cop, or another kid (he’d later done both again, including threatening the life of a teacher).

At the end of the weekend, I was getting nervous with anticipation of seeing him on Monday morning. I wondered if he’d act different than he’d done at the Lock-In. He called me Sunday night and that conversation will always stick in my mind.

“Hi, what did you do today?” I answered.

“It was ok,” He replied. “What did you do?”

We made small talk for a while then had a few moments of silence.

“Hey,” He began. “I wanna tell you something but don’t want you to think I’m a dick.”

I laughed and told him it was very hard to make me mad.

“I don’t want to go out with you,” He began. “Seriously, I don’t know how anyone ever could. You’re ugly and not my type at all.”

“So then why did you act like that the other night?” I asked after a minute of my shocked silence.

“Because you seemed so desperate. I bet you’d go out with anyone who’d express interest in you. That’s how ugly girls are. I only acted interested because I wanted to make myself feel better.”

“Wow, good job,” I hung up and refused to answer when he called back. He kept calling so I started to pick up and hang up. Then I gave the phone to my mom and she told him I wasn’t feeling well.

I didn’t cry, but I did feel numb. I knew I wasn’t beautiful, but I’d hoped I wasn’t ugly either. I didn’t wear make up and I hid inside hoodies all the time. But he had no right to try and tear me down the way he did. I decided to ignore him at school from now on, and only be civil enough when needed.

My friends knew we’d gotten together at the Lock-In but none knew how he’d degraded me 2 days later. We just told them we decided to stay friends instead. I never told anyone about that phone conversation.

 

Fifth chapter of a true story by Bree Houseman on figment.com.

 

~Mouse

3 thoughts on “The Birth Of Destruction: 5”

  1. I can relate to this on the bus to school today I saw this girl wearing a mini skirt, black laced leggings, and a punk rock tee under her striped jacket. Quite a combination eh? Anyway the one thing that I couldn’t keep my eyes off was her long light blue hair, it was gorgeous. We made small talk for a while and this guy came up and said, “Dude your gf is ugly as shit!” and he tried to suffocate her. I stood up and shoved him to the ground and pinned him to the ground saying, “You just picked a fight with a son of a elite soldier turned reenactor, she may not be my gf but she is hot just the way she is. I’ll spare you because I’m kind, next time you do this shit you won’t be breathing.” The dumbass ran away. As I sat down the girl put her hand on my leg and we made- out until she left on her stop. Felt like a boss. :)
    I like different girls, not the wannabie barbie dolls.
    ~James

    Like

Leave a Reply

