Today

Tomorrow

Days pass

Weeks go by

Waiting

Listening

Routine

Glassy eyes

Staring down

Quiet,  I hear something

No.

Only a dream

Dream

Dream

Nightmare

My mind explodes

I see you

Reaching down

Chills go up my arm

A blackest night

Crow’s wings

Sullen grass

Come back!

You dissapear

Into the darkness

Life?

Something more?

Something less?

Mort, Morte, Death

Differences?

I see none

They are back.

You never know

When

They will come

Always lurking

Watching from behind a staircase

Through a wall

Hidden eyes

Forever sealed

Torn to shreds

Shreds?

Indeed.

They are here

Here, now?

Yes

What?

You said –

I said nothing!

You came at your own risk!

No

No

No

I… can’t see

Why

They morph

Forever darkening

Hearts cold and dead!

Corner

Corner of your eye

Now, Corner of both eyes

They are close

CLOSE

…how close..

No

Glass shattering

A wind nearby

Creaking door

Rotten wood giving way

Dead

No.

Yes

No

But…

I know.

How?

…..

….

…..

.

Darkness.

A blood curdling screech

A death

Alone?

Not.. Quite.

Yelling

No

Screaming

No one there

Eternity

Silent Screams

Silent Tears

Never quieted

Never heard

Nameless bones

Plague

Sword

Death.

 

~

I see all this.. I cannot speak of what I have witnessed. Those would think myself mad! Those who believe would soon go mad themselves.  I wrap myself tighter in the cocoon of blankets gathered from the empty houses.  I used to be so hungry.  Perhaps it wouldn’t be so bad to so go now.  Everyone else is gone.

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Fin~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

Inspired by Cormac McCarthy’s The Road and  Episode 9 of Vikings (shown on the History Channel).

 

Thank you.  Any thoughts on what I wrote?  Please post them in the comments below.

 

~ Mousepaw

Leave a Reply

